MASLHeat’s 20-Game MASL Season Will Begin Late October

The Major Arena Soccer League, operators of Professional Arena Soccer throughout North America, has confirmed the membership of four teams for the 2016-17 season.

The Harrisburg Heat, St. Louis Ambush and Baltimore Blast have confirmed their league membership, while the Florida Tropics have joined as an expansion team for the upcoming season, which will begin this fall.

“After an offseason of dialogue regarding how to push arena soccer forward, all parties have found it in their respective best interest, and that of arena soccer as a whole, to maintain one unified league, said league commissioner Joshua Schaub. “We look forward kicking off this upcoming Fall as a true international league.”

“We commend the parties on their successful efforts to continue as one league. This is great for the game and for the fans,” said Harrisburg Heat CEO Carl Delmont.”

“Commissioner Josh Schaub and President Lane Smith are doing a great job creating a successful platform for the teams, owners, league and fans and we are excited to be a part of it,” Mr. Delmont continued.

Baltimore will return as the defending MASL Ron Newman Cup champions as they defeated Soles De Sonora in last season’s exciting championship series.

The 2016-17 MASL season will begin in late October, with each team’s 20-game season spanning to early March. A final division alignment and schedule is being finalized and will be announced shortly after Labor Day Weekend.