Heat Recognized by MASL: Defender, Coach and Owner of the Year

Heat Recognized by MASL: Defender, Coach and Owner of the Year

It was a great day for the Harrisburg Heat when they were honored at yesterday’s MASL press conference prior to the Championship series.

Commissioner Josh Schaub and VP of Operations Jon Ramin announced the Heat honorees: Stephen Basso as Defender of the Year, Denison Cabral as Coach of the Year and Carl Delmont as Owner of the Year/Earl Foreman Award recipient.  The full list of winners are:

Rookie of the Year – Stephen Paterson (Kansas City Comets)

Stephen Paterson quickly earned the respect of the Comets faithful with his on-field play and fearless attitude in the net. Paterson was the only goalkeeper in the league to post a shutout in the season, he led all rookies in goals against average (4.56) and was second in the league in wins (15). Paterson also chipped in offensively, tallying three assists and two goals.

Goalkeeper of the Year – Chris Toth (San Diego Sockers)

The San Diego Sockers have a long tradition of winning, and Chris Toth has been a central factor in that success for many years. In 2016-2017 Toth led the league in save percentage (.815) and was second in the league in goals against average (3.66).

Defender of the Year – Stephen Basso (Harrisburg Heat)

The Harrisburg Heat experienced the greatest turn-around in the league this season as they qualified for the playoffs for the first time in modern franchise history. Defender Stephen Basso was critical to the team’s success in his first year with the team, helping the young roster to remain calm and focused and also led the league with 53 blocks along the way.

Coach of the Year – Denison Cabral (Harrisburg Heat)

Denison Cabral took over a Harrisburg Heat team that only won a single game last season. He immediately put his stamp on the team by bringing in a mixture of young talent and veteran leadership to fill out his roster. The players bought into his system of play and together they secured their first win against the Baltimore Blast in modern club history and their first berth in the MASL Playoffs.

2017-04-07T08:59:01+00:00 April 7th, 2017|Categories: Heat News, League News|